Release Date: 23 October, 2017

Wits Business School to be exclusive academic partner for the SA Premier Business Awards

The Wits Business School (WBS) will be partnering with the South African Premier Business Awards (SAPBA) as the exclusive academic partner in 2017. Now in their fifth year, these popular Awards recognise and reward South African companies and their contribution to growing and transforming the country’s economy.

Presented by the Department of Trade and Industry (the dti) in partnership with Brand South Africa and Proudly South African, these Awards are also supported for the second consecutive year by the Johannesburg Stock Exchange.

The Director-General of the dti, Mr Lionel October says, “We are thrilled to have WBS coming on board as a partner. The institution’s reputation as an excellent school with world class programmes means it is the perfect match for our prestigious Awards. With their focus on recognising and honouring the spirit of success and innovation and acknowledgement of enterprises which create jobs and demonstrate good business, we believe that these Awards are a great fit for WBS as an institution renowned for graduating the country’s new business leaders of tomorrow. It means a lot to have the support of such a prominent business school on board.”

WBS will be sponsoring approximately R1 million worth of executive education courses to this year’s winners. Dr Timothy Hutton, Executive Education Director at WBS says, “We are delighted to be working with the South African Premier Business Awards. We believe they highlight the best South Africa has to offer while showcasing how so many innovative businesses across all sectors are positively contributing not only to job creation in South Africa, but to the country’s global reputation as a hub of business excellence.”

The SAPBA seal of approval, which can be used by all winners on their labelling, packaging, marketing and other collateral, is a sign of quality, innovation and a commitment to job creation and economic development in the country.

The gala event will take place at the Sandton Convention Centre on 7 December 2017.

Categories include:

  • Manufacturers Award
  • Exporter Award
  • Enterprise Development Award
  • Women Owned Business Award
  • Investor of the Year Award
  • Proudly South African Enterprise Award
  • Play your Part Award
  • SMME Award
  • Young Entrepreneur Award
  • The Black Industrialist Award
  • Lifetime Achievement Award.

Entries are currently open in the following categories and will close on 27 October at midnight for online submissions and 15h30 for hard copies.  Hard copies can be hand delivered to Proudly South African, 23 Sturdee Avenue, Rosebank.

For more information and entry submissions, visit


Sidwell Medupe, dti Departmental Spokesperson

Tel: 012 394 1650

Mobile: 079 492 1774


Issued by the Department of Trade & Industry

Follow us on @the_dti